Book Review Tuesday (11/29/16)- The Flame in the Mist

Hey, everyone, and welcome to the last Book Review Tuesday of November 2016.

The book I’m reviewing today was a bit of a surprise. I found it on Goodreads a few months ago, and then a few weeks ago, I put it on hold at the library just to get something off my to-read list. I re-read the description, and I thought, hmm…this seems a little disappointing…

But I was very wrong.

VERY wrong.

The Flame in the Mist scored four stars on Goodreads, which on my Book Rating Scale would rate about a 7.5 to an 8! Woot woot!

I hope you like it!

Screen Shot 2016-11-29 at 4.31.23 PM.png

The Flame in the Mist

As far as she knows, Jemma was born into the ruling family of  Anglavia, a land covered by a fatal mist, the Agromonds. But she just doesn’t seem like them. Her hair stands out like a raging flame perched on her head (hence her nickname, “Flamehead”), and she is reluctant to participate in the weekly ceremonies in which the Agromond family summon the dark spirit Scagavay. But she uncovers a startling secret, she has to escape the castle, accompanied only by her two telepathic rats, Noodle and Pie, her friend Digby, and with only a magic stone necklace and a book to guide and protect her. Will she find her true parents and discover her true origins without being caught by the Agromonds?

 

For all fantasy lovers (and maybe even WondLa fans-Jemma kind of reminded me of Eva Nine), this is the book for you!

See you guys in DECEMBER! Man, this year went by so fast…GOOD RIDDANCE. 2016 sort of sucked, don’t you agree?

I promise I’ll make another post later on and elaborate on that.

100 Things I Love

So yesterday, my brother made this list of over 60 things he hates. It was actually funny, but it inspired me to make a list of 100 things I loved, because, y’know. Negativity sucks. 

Here it is!

  1. Life
  2. Family
  3. Sleep
  4. BOOKS
  5. Goodreads
  6. Kittens
  7. Frankenweenie
  8. St. Vincent/Annie Clark
  9. Batgirl
  10. Inspirational quotes
  11. Drawing
  12. Sticky notes
  13. Rainbows
  14. OREOS
  15. The Search for WondLa series
  16. Dragons
  17. Science (mostly)
  18. York Peppermint patties
  19. Star Wars (less so the prequels, of course)
  20. CUPCAKES
  21. David Bowie
  22. Coming up with stories (even when they never end up getting written down in the first place
  23. Word games (Scrabble, Bananagrams, etc.)
  24. Most Alternative Rock music
  25. Neon colors
  26. Lemurs
  27. My Kindle
  28. EMOJIS 😜
  29. My friends
  30. Nail polish
  31. Bookshelves (because why not?)
  32. Pizza
  33. ✨MAGIC✨
  34. Kubo and the Two Strings
  35. Tattered Cover Bookstore
  36. Ice Cream (mostly Cookies and Cream)
  37. Going to movies
  38. Adorable folder icons
  39. Creative writing (even when it turns out super stupid/weird)
  40. Being totally insane in photobooths
  41. Having a blog
  42. 42 (because, y’know. The answer to life, the universe, and everything.)
  43. Cephalopods
  44. dictionary.com
  45. Instagram
  46. Imagination
  47. My art desk
  48. The Wings of Fire series
  49. Karen O/Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  50. My (overgrown but totally awesome) backyard
  51. Orchids
  52. Shelter (my home/the badger game)
  53. My room
  54. All of my pets
  55. Fuzzy slippers
  56. My local library
  57. Making weird memes (that no one get)
  58. RANDOM GIFS
  59. My bed
  60. Tim Burton movies
  61. Cats with incredibly weird expressions
  62. Recommending good books to people
  63. When people actually like the books that I recommend to them
  64. Neko Atsume
  65. Cat cafés
  66. Captioning stupid pictures I find on Rosetta Stone
  67. Putting art out there (and having people like it)
  68. Reading in a hammock
  69. Monstrous series (Monstrous & Ravenous)
  70. Virtually all species of cetacean (whales, dolphins, porpoises, etc.)
  71. Playing piano (and learning cool stuff like Hedwig’s Theme and Life On Mars?)
  72. Fluffy things
  73. Colorado
  74. Fig newmans (come on, we all expected that one)
  75. My strange music library
  76. MG books
  77. The Warriors books
  78. Pusheen the Cat
  79. Minecraft
  80. The satisfaction of finishing things (i.e., completing a list, finishing a book)
  81. Maleficent (the movie)
  82. Halloween!
  83. Being a total geek/fangirl
  84. The Beatles
  85. Animal print things
  86. Making REALLY WEIRD movies with my brother
  87. Harry Potter stuff
  88. Memes
  89. Downloading cool fonts
  90. Finally getting to read a book that I’ve been wanting to read for months
  91. Weird, long, and obscure words
  92. Fish (not to eat)
  93. Cute earrings
  94. Photography
  95. Blogging
  96. When you discover that a friend has more in common with you than you think
  97. Marvel/DC (it’s impossible to pick a favorite!)
  98. Petting a cat
  99. The Ocean
  100. YOU! Yes, you!

 

Thanksgiving!

Hey guys! If you’re in America, have a happy Thanksgiving. If you’re not, I still hope you have an awesome day. Besides being thankful for  family, friends, food, and stuff like that, you know what else I’m thankful for?

You.

That’s right, all of you! All 22 of you!

I’m very thankful for all of my followers! Thank you, all of you, for tolerating my weirdness/fangirlness, liking and commenting on my posts, taking my *quizzes*, and just being there. Thank you so much.

Just for the heck of it, here’s a picture prior to the baking of the HOLY PUMPKIN PIE

Screen Shot 2016-11-24 at 9.48.24 AM.png

And, here are some more Hobbes pics to satisfy your hypothetical hunger for cute kitten pics:

IMG_3195.jpg

MYSTERIOUS FISH ABDUCTION

IMG_3111.jpg

Evidently, she likes my screensaver…

IMG_3079 2.jpg

I just about died after I saw this picture!!!

So yeah! Have a happy Thanksgiving and a great day!

Book Review Tuesday (11/22/16)- Spirit’s Key

Hey everyone! If you’re on Thanksgiving Break, hope you’re having a great one! If you’re not, I still hope you’re doing great.

The book that I’m reviewing today is one that (yet again) I found on the holy & wonderful Goodreads, and I bought it one day after finding it there at the also holy & wonderful Barnes and Noble. I was surprised at how good it was! On Goodreads, I rated it 4 stars (which would be about a 7.5 to an 8 on the Madeline Todd Book Rating Scale). Hope you enjoy this book!

9780374300111.jpg

Also, recognize the cover art? It’s the same person who did the cover on the edition of Doll Bones (See Happy Birthday, Neon Cheetah!), Eliza Wheeler. I love the art on both of them. ANYWAY…now for the REVIEW.

Spirit’s Key

Spirit Holden may seem like  just another oridinary girl living on Bald Island. But she’s not- her family has the power to see the future through house keys. Problem is, Spirit still hasn’t inherited this gift of foresight. She thinks it could be because her beloved dog Sky has just died, but she doesn’t know for certain. But soon, more of Bald Island’s dogs become ill and start dying, Spirit knows she has to find the culprit. Even worse, now that the dogs are dying, some of the people are getting sick, too. Can she cure the dogs before they die out altogether?

As I said before, this is an astonishing book for all! I definitely recommend it to all of you!

Well, bye for now!

Book Review Tuesday (11/15/16)- This Journal Belongs to Ratchet

Hey everyone! I hope you’re enjoying your November so far! I just finished this book about two days ago, and I definitely enjoyed it! (Do I say “enjoy” too much? I think I do…) Hopefully you’ll like it too. Very original and fun journal format!

51rcpNGew5L._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This Journal Belongs to Ratchet

Ratchet’s life is not as normal as she wants it to be. She’s homeschooled, her mother is dead, and her dad  is not only  a car repairman- he’s INSANELY protective of the environment and INSANELY against the mayor’s decision to destroy Moss Tree Park. All she wants is to be like everyone else. And the only way she thinks she can do that is by doing two things- going to a “Get Charmed” camp, and learning about her dead mother. After the “Get Charmed” plan fails, she is forced to teach a Go-Cart making class with her father. Can she find out about her mother, help her dad save the park, and still have a normal(ish) life?

 

This is a fun and fresh read for anyone who likes themes about the environment and being different. Heck, I don’t care that I finished it in a day- it was still great!

 

Well, bye for now! I’ve got something great up my sleeve today…hehe…

Book Review Tuesday (11/8/16)-Fortune Falls

Hi, everyone!

Because of  all the stressful Presidential Election stuff going on tonight, I encourage you to do three things:

  1. Binge-watch kitten videos.
  2. Listen to relaxing and distracting music.
  3. Read a good book.

You can look at my previous BRT posts to find stuff for #3, and this will be one too.

fortune-falls-goebel.jpg

Fortune Falls

The small town of Fortune Falls is an incredibly special town. Why? Because in Fortune Falls, superstitions are real. So, spotting a black cat or stepping on a sidewalk crack is serious business. The people of Fortune Falls are separated in two- the Luckies and the Unluckies. One of these Unluckies is eleven (soon to be twelve) year old Sadie Bleeker, whose bad luck can’t seem to leave her alone. While hatching a plan to reverse her bad luck, she accidentally breaks a mirror, setting off a seven-year curse. Can she still turn the tides in her favor?

This was a very original and fun book that’s perfect for fans of Upside Down Magic (see Book Review Tuesday, 6/21/16)!

Have a good night, and try not to stress out a lot!

Happy Halloween!

Technically, it was yesterday, but I really wanted to wish my followers (and everyone else) a happy Halloween!

Last year, I was stupid and insane and I didn’t show you my Halloween costume. (*slaps past self in the face repeatedly*) So, here’s a (slightly awkward) picture of me in my Batgirl of Burnside costume.

Screen Shot 2016-11-01 at 4.58.39 PM.png

Minus my weird expression, it’s pretty cool, right?

Now, let’s go to my costume.

I dressed as…my hero…my idol…the best book character in the universe…you can probably guess who it is now….*drumroll*…

…EVA NINE!!!!

IT WAS SO FUN!!!!! SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!

Now, I have LOTS (meaning three) pictures!!

IMG_2876.jpg

Here’s a selfie I took. I chose the greenish filter to try to make it look like the illustrations in The Search for WondLa.

IMG_2870.jpg

The Omnipod I fashioned from a mini mirror, a popsicle stick, lots of duct tape, and some mini sticky pearl things. Too bad there’s no Gym Buddy…

IMG_6141.JPG

And finally, this is the whole costume, complete with sneakboats, patches, and a satchel (that later got stuffed with candy and coated with dust from a Pixi Stick with a broken wrapper). Isn’t it awesome?

And, I have one more thing to share before I go…

WE GOT A KITTEN ON SATURDAY!!!

She’s a 13-week old Ruddy Abyssinian, and we named her Hobbes! She’s super sweet, sassy,  and fierce (for a tiny kitten) (but hard to do your math homework around).

IMG_2880.jpg

IMG_2898.jpgIMG_2925.jpgIMG_2912.jpgIMG_2902.jpgIMG_2886.jpgIMG_2923.jpg

*in Mr. Burgermeister voice* Isn’t she adorable?

Well, I hope you all had an awesome Halloween and ate lots of candy! Bye!

Did anyone else get the Frankenweenie reference I just made? If you did, ten (hypothetical)  points for awesomeness.