Book Review Tuesday (8/15/17)-Page by Paige

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve had a very wonderful and booky summer! (Speaking of summer…NOOOOO IT’S ALMOST OVER AND I HAVE TO GO BACK TO SCHOOL IN ABOUT A WEEK!!!!)

NOOOOOO.gif

Anyway, let’s just enjoy the precious little time we have left and read some books. Man, it went by so fast…

I hope you enjoy my book review! (Also, ignore the corny title of the book. The book itself makes up for it.)

71rzBITDHIL.jpg

Page by Paige

Paige Turner has always been the odd one out in her family, born to two authors (hence the name, Paige Turner *ba dum TSSSSS*). But Paige has always had her head in the clouds-or her sketchbook. And now, she and her family are moving to New York. Paige simultaneously explores the big city and the thoughts in her head, sketching everything down and following the rules and tips her artist grandmother laid out for her. Paige soon finds three friends-Jules, Longo, and Gabe-but can she summon the courage to reveal her artist self?

 

I just LOVED Page by Paige! It’s probably one of my favorite graphic novels I’ve read this year (up there with Nimona). The art style is wonderful, and the character of Paige is very relatable for me, personally. Artist or not, you’re sure to love this book.

 

Thank you so much for reading, and have a wonderful day!

 

(Also, I really just want to put a few gifs here because I just rewatched Hellboy II-The Golden Army on Sunday…)

Hellboy vs possessed lockers.gifOh, it's Friday.GIFMy body's a temple.gifJohann.gif

*high pitched voice* I’m not a baby, I’m a tumor…

(I swear I’m normal…)

Book Review Tuesday (8/8/17)-Serafina and the Splintered Heart

Hey there, everyone! Tomorrow is National Book Lover’s Day, which is pretty great, so here’s a great book I read over the weekend. It was incredibly anticipated since about last year (when book 2 came out), and unlike book 2, it did not disappoint. (Book 2 was still good, mind you, but not as good as book 1.) So, without further ado, here is your book review!

61uD+4Tts4L.SX316.jpg

Serafina and the Splintered Heart

Strange things are afoot once more at Biltmore Estate. And Serafina is feeling equally strange. After waking up buried alive in a coffin on Biltmore grounds, she escapes to find that no one seems to notice her. In fact, everyone thinks she is missing, but only her close friend Braeden knows the truth-she died at the hand of Rowena, the sorceress daughter of Uriah. Meanwhile, the Estate is being pelted with raging storms and floods like never before, putting it in terrible danger. Can Serafina somehow make herself noticed-and stop whatever black magic is behind the happenings at Biltmore?

 

Overall, I thought this was a great conclusion to this series.* As I said earlier, I liked it better than Serafina and the Twisted Staff (See Book Review Tuesday-9/5/16). But, nothing can really compare to the utter mind-blowing awesomeness of Serafina and the Black Cloak (See Book Review Tuesday-4/26/16). From most of the reviews on Goodreads that I’ve seen, most people are satisfied, as I was, with this third book. And I hope all you other Serafina fans out there are satisfied too. 😉

 

Anyway, thank you so much for reading, and have a great day! Don’t forget to keep on reading!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*In the author’s note, Beatty said that there would be more books to come set near/in Serafina’s world (Serafinaverse? I kinda like that name), but no more actually focused on Serafina. All we know so far is that the first book is going to be called Willa of the Wood. 

Book Review Tuesday (8/1/17)-Darkness of Dragons

Hello, fellow bookworms, and happy first day of August!

The book review I present is for, in my opinion, one of the most anticipated MG/YA reads of 2017. For me, Darkness of Dragons, along with Nightfall (Keeper of the Lost Cities-I keep meaning to review those guys, but…) are my most anticipated reads of 2017 period. I will tell you one thing before this review-I was not disappointed.

IMG_5438.jpg

Darkness of Dragons (WoF #10)

It all comes down to this.

Darkstalker is now finalizing his plans to recolonize the Lost City of the Night, and with the Nightwings, along with most of the dragons in Pyrrhia, under his spell, he appears unstoppable. But the SandWing Qibli knows that he can be stopped-by using a little magic against him. Thing is, Qibli has no magic. But what he does have is a little help from the animus SeaWing Turtle-an enchanted earring designed to protect the wearer against Darkstalker’s sorcery, and a bowl that mutliplies any object placed in it. Now, with the help of what’s left of the scattered Jade Winglet, he must find Darkstalker and defeat him once and for all-and distribute some magic earrings along the way. Can they end Darkstalker’s reign of terror?

 

Wow.

Darkness of Dragons was not my favorite of the WoF books, but nonetheless, it was a wonderful end to the series. Also, rumor has it that Tui T. Sutherland is planning more WoF books, but the only definitive one we know of so far is that The Dragonet Prophecy (the first book in the series, if you didn’t know) is being adapted into a graphic novel this coming January. Pretty exciting!

Also, I might start working on a WoF MBTI chart (like I did with WondLa), so that will be pretty fun. I’m also definitely making a few changes to the WondLa MBTI chart I made, so stay tuned! AAAAAAND, I’ve been drawing loads this summer, so expect some new fan arts soon!

Goodbye for now, and try and stay sane until January, WoF fans!

Book Review Tuesday (7/18/17)-Brave

Hey everyone!!!

Let me just say that I had NO idea that Awkward (See Book Review Tuesday, 11/1/16) was going to have a sequel.

And it did…

…AND I WAS SO HAPPY!

I almost liked it better than the ORIGINAL, it was that good!!! If you read it, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 😀

51yafa-OCgL._SX347_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Brave

You may remember Jensen Graham from Awkward as a shy, sort of paranoid kid in the art club who constantly tried to warn everyone about the impending danger of sunspots. But this time, the spotlight is on him. Jensen loves nothing more than to daydream.  He wants to be an astronaut at NASA-thing is, he’s not the greatest at math, preferring instead to doodle spaceships in his sketchbook. Jensen is also picked on a lot, not just by the bullies, but from his fellow Art Club classmates. But when he joins the school newspaper, his life changes. Jenny, Akilah, and Felipe know that Jensen is being bullied, and they want to help…just as soon as they finish their weekly vlog. Can he juggle the daily struggles of middle school and survive in one piece?

 

Love. LOVELOVELOVELOVELOVE. Just as good as Awkward, if not better. Not only would I recommend it to anyone who wants to return to Berrybrook Middle School, but for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Victoria Jamieson, or anyone who just wants a funny, heartfelt graphic novel.

 

I hope everyone is enjoying their summer, and reading lots! Thank you so much, and see you next week!

 

Book Review Tuesday (7/11/17)-Where You’ll Find Me (PLUS-Bonus gif barrage for NO apparent reason!)

Good morning, afternoon, evening, eternal night, or whatever time it is where you are!

My summer has been pretty uneventful so far-besides Comic-Con, nothing much has happened. Mostly, I’ve been drawing, petting the cats, eating ice cream and popsicles every once in a while, watching movies & TV shows (SHERLOCK. OH. MY. GOOOOOOD), and regularly raiding my local library for a new set of books to read. This book happens to be one of these books…as usual. Enjoy!

26114728.jpg

Where You’ll Find Me

Anna Collette thought that going into 8th Grade this year would be fun, but she couldn’t be further from the truth. Her mother has just been hospitalized after attempting to kill herself, her “best friend” Dani just ditched her for the popular girls, and she’s stuck at home with her dad, his new wife, and her baby. And to top it all off, she’s been forced to sit at the “loser table” after being abandoned by Dani. But nothing there is as it seems. Soon, Anna finds friends in two outcasts-Shawna and Sarabeth-and soon finds her place. With their help, Anna’s been feeling a little better and more normal. But will it last?

 

I liked this book a lot more than I expected to. Heartwarming and heartwrenching, and overall, very endearing. I definitely wouldn’t call it a “light-read”, but it was a nice, short, good summer read. If you read it, I hope you like it!

 

I’ll get to posting those WondLa fan arts soon. Bye, everyone, and have a wonderful summer!

WAIT!

I REALLY WANT TO POST SOME GIFS FOR SOME REASON!

(But don’t I always?)

SO HERE YOU GO!

GIFS!

*Violin screeching noises*.GIFARE WE BLIND? DEPLOY THE GARRISON!.gifDon't go.gifEPIC SAX GANDALF.gif

Here I am!.gif

Hello there.gif

HOLY SWEARING CUSS.gifI've only completed two sides.gif

That felt really good for some reason. Hmm. 😏

Alright, bye guys! Have a good day!

 

Book Review Tuesday (7/4/17)-The Doom Machine

Hey everyone, and Happy Independence Day for those of you in America! (MURCA! EAGLES! FORDS! GUNS! BEER! Okay, I’ll stop now…)

Sorry about last week, but hopefully the Meme school video tided you guys over. This is the first BRT of July 2017, so here you guys go!

6508964.jpg

The Doom Machine

Vern Hollow, New York, 1956. Jack Creedle leads an ordinary life as a paperboy, living with his uncle Bud, who repairs cars. Or so it seems…

Bud Creedle is hiding a secret-he’s constructed a time machine (that looks mysteriously like an ordinary refrigerator), and that time machine attracted the attention of aliens. The Skreeps-9 foot tall, alien spiders, to be exact. And they want the machine for themselves. In an instant, Jack’s world is turned upside down as he, along with Isadora Shumway, the daughter of a scientist, and Bud, along with four others, are whisked off on a crazy adventure across the universe*. Can they keep the time machine from the aliens?

 

The Doom Machine was a really great read. I’d probably recommend it for Star Wars fans, or really anyone else who loves a fun, fast-paced sci-fi novel. Love!

 

Now, as promised, here are my pictures from the Denver Comic-Con on Saturday!

IMG_5456.jpg

Here’s my cosplay-Eleven from Stranger Things! (SPOILER-this will also be my Halloween costume!)

IMG_5453.jpg

Close-up. My mom used some lipstick for the nosebleed. 😄

IMG_5454.jpgIMG_5452.JPG

There were a bunch of awesome and hilarious El cosplays this time, which were very enjoyable. They (myself included) were probably all attracted to the holy presence of…

IMG_5450.jpg

…the great MILLIE BOBBY BROWN (Eleven from Stranger Things)!!!!! I got to take a brief picture with her! She was so nice, and it was such an honor to meet her! SQUEE!

 

I hope you guys have a great day and a great rest of your week! Happy fourth!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Hehe…unintended Beatles reference

 

AW DANG IT…

I’M SO SORRY GUYS!!!!

My internet was acting weird at the time when I was going to post the BRT, but I couldn’t get on the website (or any other website, for that matter), soooooo….

SORRY!!!

So, here’s a really funny video to take your minds off of the absence of the book review…

MEME SCHOOL

Okay, bye! See you in July! I’m going to Comic-Con on Saturday, so I’ll definitely post some pics from that! ‘Till Morrow’s Destiny!