Posted in Book Review Tuesday

Book Review Tuesday (7/18/17)-Brave

Hey everyone!!!

Let me just say that I had NO idea that Awkward (See Book Review Tuesday, 11/1/16) was going to have a sequel.

And it did…

…AND I WAS SO HAPPY!

I almost liked it better than the ORIGINAL, it was that good!!! If you read it, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 😀

51yafa-OCgL._SX347_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Brave

You may remember Jensen Graham from Awkward as a shy, sort of paranoid kid in the art club who constantly tried to warn everyone about the impending danger of sunspots. But this time, the spotlight is on him. Jensen loves nothing more than to daydream.  He wants to be an astronaut at NASA-thing is, he’s not the greatest at math, preferring instead to doodle spaceships in his sketchbook. Jensen is also picked on a lot, not just by the bullies, but from his fellow Art Club classmates. But when he joins the school newspaper, his life changes. Jenny, Akilah, and Felipe know that Jensen is being bullied, and they want to help…just as soon as they finish their weekly vlog. Can he juggle the daily struggles of middle school and survive in one piece?

 

Love. LOVELOVELOVELOVELOVE. Just as good as Awkward, if not better. Not only would I recommend it to anyone who wants to return to Berrybrook Middle School, but for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Victoria Jamieson, or anyone who just wants a funny, heartfelt graphic novel.

 

I hope everyone is enjoying their summer, and reading lots! Thank you so much, and see you next week!

 

Posted in Book Review Tuesday

Book Review Tuesday (11/1/16)-Awkward

Hi guys! Happy November and (Day One) of the Day of the Dead! I ate a sugar skull yesterday in Spanish class 💀

Anyway, this was a great graphic novel that pretty much everyone will (and should) love!61yATZrvzjL._SX346_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Awkward

Peppi Torres is the new kid at Berrybrook Middle School. On her first day, she trips and is noticed by Jaime, who is frequently teased, in the hall, the mean kids start calling her names. So, she has no choice…but to shove Jaime away. Trying to forget about the incident, she joins the school’s art club, and is immediately washed up in their war with the science club. Can the art club stand triumphant over their rival  and get their comic published in the school newspaper? And can she work things out with Jaime?

 

I’m pretty sure this is the first graphic novel I’ve read since Ghosts (see Book Review Tuesday, 9/20/16), and I liked almost just as much! The art was great, the story was great, the characters were hilarious, and Jaime Thompson looks suspicioulsy like my brother did when he was in 6th Grade…*

To give you a little idea, here’s a section I thought was SUPER FUNNY!

Maribella Samson is a stalker.jpg

Have a great November!

 

*I would show his picture from then, but he’d probably murder me a thousand times if I did.